Content Curator: 100% Virtual


Happy New Year! It’s been awhile since I’ve posted, and I figured now is as good a time as any to update. Since late November I’ve been working with a client that I found on Elance. 

My official title? Content Curator. I’m responsible for finding content, submitting what I find to the person who chooses what will be posted, and then writing the copy for whatever was selected for the day. 

What’s interesting about this position is that I’m prohibited from disclosing the client’s name. I worked at companies in the past where I had to sign an NDA that prohibited me from talking about any of their secret products they were developing, but I was never told not to mention the company’s name. 

So, as I was updating my resume and portfolio, I thought what an interesting dilemma this is. What do hiring managers think when they see work listed on a potential candidate’s resume where they are unable to say who the client is?

Well, I had to go ahead and update my stuff despite my concerns. If someone is interested in hiring me, I will cross that bridge when I get there. 

In the meantime, the learning experience on this project has been fascinating. All of the people I work with, I know only through the communication platform known as, Slack. It’s like a glorified chat room. To make it even more fascinating, some of my collaborators are in another country. One person is in Romania, and another in Paris. The rest of us are scattered across the United States and Canada. 

I have to say that my experience working for them has been really awesome. The only part that’s a bit challenging is the work hours. I’m required to be on-line by 7 am, three days a week. I never have been a morning person, and being alert that early has been the only real challenge.

Well, I’m off to pick up my search for an additional remote position. Working virtually is awesome. I love that I can be anywhere with an Internet connection and get paid to work from home.

UPDATE: I was able to use the Company name they originally provided when I landed the job through Elance a few months ago! 

Leave a Reply

